Friday 5 July 2019

Internet Time Alliance Jay Cross Memorial Award 2019

This post first appeared in Internet Time Alliance News on July 5, 2019

The Internet Time Alliance Award, in memory of Jay Cross, is presented to a workplace learning professional who has contributed in positive ways to the field of Informal Learning and is reflective of Jay’s lifetime of work.

Recipients champion workplace and social learning practices

inside their organization and/or on the wider stage. They share their work in public and often challenge conventional wisdom. The Award is given to professionals who continuously welcome challenges at the cutting edge of their expertise and are convincing and effective advocates of a humanistic approach to workplace learning and performance.

We announce the award on 5 July, Jay’s birthday.

Following his death in November 2015, the partners of the Internet Time Alliance (Jane Hart, Harold Jarche, Charles Jennings, Clark Quinn) resolved to continue Jay’s work. Jay Cross was a deep thinker and a man of many talents, never resting on his past accomplishments, and this award is one way to keep pushing our professional fields and industries to find new and better ways to learn and work.

The Internet Time Alliance Jay Cross Memorial Award for 2019 is presented to Michelle Ockers.

Michelle describes herself as “passionate about modernising learning in organisations”. She has experience supporting workplace learning inside large organizations as well as a freelance consultant. Michelle helps to inform the industry through her public speaking and workshops. She is not afraid to try new methods and get her hands dirty, as she did in promoting social learning at Coca Cola Amatil, trading in her sneakers for safety shoes to better understand the work environment. For the past year Michelle has been posting a monthly summary of “What I learned”, setting an example of continuous learning.

Here is Michelle in her own words:

“The idea of a learning environment is that you’re reducing friction, to make it easier for people to learn, and in particular to learn while they work … So it’s about enabling people to learn continuously, to have a more fluid sharing of knowledge, to be able to access the resources they need, in the flow of work and to be able to do their job.”

It is with great pleasure that we present the fourth annual Internet Time Alliance Jay Cross Memorial Award to Michelle Ockers.

Past award winners:

2018  Mark Britz
2017  Marcia Conner
2016  Helen Blunden (Inaugural Award)

No comments:

Post a Comment