Tuesday 14 July 2020

The Internet Time Alliance Jay Cross Memorial Award 2020

The Internet Time Alliance Award, in memory of Jay Cross, is presented to a workplace learning professional who has contributed in positive ways to the field of Informal Learning and is reflective of Jay’s lifetime of work.

Recipients champion workplace and social learning practices inside their organization and/or on the wider stage. They share their work in public and often challenge conventional wisdom. The Award is given to professionals who continuously welcome challenges at the cutting edge of their expertise and are convincing and effective advocates of a humanistic approach to workplace learning and performance.

We announce the award on 5 July, Jay’s birthday.

Following his death in November 2015, the partners of the Internet Time Alliance (Jane Hart, Harold Jarche, Charles Jennings, and Clark Quinn) resolved to continue Jay’s work. Jay Cross was a deep thinker and a man of many talents, never resting on his past accomplishments, and this award is one way to keep pushing our professional fields and industries to find new and better ways to learn and work.

Andrew Jacobs

The Internet Time Alliance Jay Cross Memorial Award for 2020 is presented to Andrew Jacobs.

Andrew is determined that learning and development should be an integral part of business activity. He is currently employed in a challenging position inside the UK government, but Andrew continues to blog at Lost & Desperate. In 2013 his blog was one of the 50 most socially-shared learning and development blogs. In spite of his work demands, Andrew continues to share through his blog and on Twitter (as @AndrewJacobssLnD). He also speaks at industry events offering his experience and supporting others. In his previous work, Andrew became an expert at improving workplace learning with almost no budget.

Much in the spirit of Jay Cross, Andrew is constantly questioning the status quo. In his own words —

“If LnD help them learn, they won’t need learning.
If they don’t need learning, LnD aren’t required.
Therefore, to be required, LnD shouldn’t help them learn
Why do LnD still market a once and done approach to learning?
Can’t sell? Learn this.
Can’t comply? Learn this.
Can’t coach? Learn this.
Can’t manage? Learn this.
Can’t lead? Learn this.”

It is with great pleasure that we present the fifth annual Internet Time Alliance Jay Cross Memorial Award to Andrew Jacobs. Andrew will be presented with the award later this year in London.

Past recipients of the Internet Time Alliance Jay Cross Memorial Award have been:

2016 [Inaugural award]: Helen Blunden
2017: Marcia Conner
2018: Mark Britz
2019: Michelle Okers